Week 3: How can ICT and Pedagogy be used?

After reading this question, I happened to stumble across a post from Jess who has provided this great link to Education Queensland that offers ideas on how to teach and learn using ICT.  A much needed resource thanks Jess!  After gazing through the list of ways to incorporate using ICT in the classroom I felt completely ICT illiterate as there were many ideas that I had no idea how to incorporate.  It did make me realise how important it is to learn everything there is to know about the different ways to use ICT so the students can use and benefit from this.  I have found the ‘seek, sense, share’ framework useful so perhaps when I  learn about some of the applications, I shall share them here in my blog!

Social determinism and Technological determinism are two terms that are new to me and after reading the above documents I am left wondering which theory I support.  Some theorists believe that socioeconomic development of a society is driven by the technologies used whereas others think society is driven purely by the interactions and self control of the people within.  I initially supported the ‘Techs’ but then I read an excerpt from Rainie & Wellman (2012) and could relate to the idea suggesting people control their own destiny when it comes to using technology.  In a ‘we control it’ ideal it suggests that individuals invent experiences when they feel a need.

As I continue the weeks learning I feel myself getting more bogged down with information that is quite difficult to understand.  Every link I click on though helps with the confusion, so will hang in there. At least I am picking up new ICT skills that I can use to enhance teaching and learning in the classroom.  This was an interesting article I found as part of a quick Google search that David suggested we do on the Study Desk.  Great search strategy!  It was blogged by Elena Aguilar in 2012 and is called ‘Good instruction activates Prior Knowledge and uses Authentic Assessment.  There are other links on the site that also lead to lesson and unit planning.   In addition to accessing every link I have also decided to read some other blog sites I am following to try and gain another perspective of this weeks content.

As I keep on with the weekly schedule I also need to think assignment 1.  One of the links I clicked will indeed be valuable for the assignments called  Decoding-learning-innovation-data (2012). This has lots of wonderful ideas and links to some theories I may call on.

Speaking of my assignment, my lesson plan’s learning area is Mathematics.  Here students will be using an iPad to scan a QR code and identify 3D objects.  In Trinsic & Abrahamson’s ‘Embodied Artifacts and Conceptual Performances, the positives of using your body to learn are discussed and align with  theorists Dewey (1933), Ericcson (2002) and (Schon, 1983) .  The article talks about how ‘Learners therefore approach disciplinary competence by entering at the level of actions in the form of rehearsed performances (Trinsic & Abraham, 2012).  On the study desk it was explained how Wii consoles were used in a learning experience to help students understand proportional reasoning. ‘It allows the teacher and learner to observe the learner’s understanding of proportion.Student and teacher can see through physical movement if the idea of proportion is understood. Enabling the teacher to assess understanding and provide feedback. Enabling the learner to reflect and think about an abstract mathematical concept in terms of physical movement (USQ, 2016).  I was intrigued with this and the term ’embodied cognition’ where physical actions or body movements help support cognitive development and enhance memory power (USQ, 2016).  As mentioned above, a lesson plan has been created for the year 1 class whereby they are expected to move their hands up and down to scan 3D shapes.  I am wondering if  the theory of ’embodied cognition’ would apply here!

 

 

Leave a Reply

